JinXingye
Art by: Jin Xingye

So much of who I am today comes from others.

I find comfort in the idea that I carry a piece of the souls I have met and loved with me, wherever I go in Life, wherever I may wander on this Earth.

On days when I face the numbness of reality, I remember the peals of laughter my Grandmother would burst into and I smile a little brighter.

When I feel like I keep messing up, I think of that kid I went to school with. She never could whistle and for a year she tried, spitting all over the place as she did. Until one day, she did. And flowed from her lips a feeble melody.

On rainy days, the ones that are thunderous and grey, I think of the stories my Father used to tell when the lights were out and we were all gathered in the living room, hiding from the storm. And it makes me a little braver.

Life, I am learning, does not have to be lived alone.

Leave a Reply

